Chicago 2L
Chicago
Members: Kyle Mclean, Gaa Reid, Miranda Rowley
Coaches: Gabbi Gallego
Description of Issues:
Laura Kinney, an aspiring local rap artist and LGBT activist, was arrested for possession of cocaine during a pride parade and was later convicted on paraphernalia charges. During her trial, rap lyrics were admitted as evidence of specific intent to distribute despite a motion in limine to exclude them.  During voir dire, the prosecution used its peremptory challenge to strike a juror that was a member of the LGBT community.  The defense raised a Batson challenge, arguing that the prosecution struck him based on his sexual orientation.
The issues on appeal are as follows: 
 
1. Whether the Thirteenth Circuit properly found that the District Court was correct in finding the rap lyrics were admissible under Fed. R. Evid. 404(b) but that the District Court erred in denying the motion in limine under Fed. R. Evid. 403, and if so, whether the error was harmless.
 
2. Whether the Thirteenth Circuit properly held that the Batson test applies to peremptory strikes based on sexual orientation and, that the defendants established purposeful discrimination.
Scheduling Contact: Gabriella Gallego (gallego@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): http://www.chicagobar.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=The_Problem&;Template=/CM/HTMLDisplay.cfm&ContentID=11203
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Fri. October 13
11:00AM - 1:00PM F (CLOSED)
Sun. October 22
3:00PM - 5:00PM E (CLOSED)
Mon. October 23
12:00PM - 1:00PM J (PETITIONER) Irene Lee Sean Anderson Michael Rhoads Andrea Swanson Madeline Landry
7:00PM - 8:00PM J (RESPONDENT) Irene Lee Swetha Gopalakrishnan Adam Arce
Tue. October 24
8:00AM - 9:30AM F Naomi
Wed. October 25
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR (PETITIONER) Andrea Swanson Madeline Landry Bekah Young Holly Locke Anushri Mehta
3:30PM - 4:30PM MCR (RESPONDENT) Maddy LS Jillian Kaltner Kevin Bohm Mitchell VanLandingham Sasha Jasty
Thu. October 26
6:00PM - 8:00PM C line by line closed closed closed Nolan Theurer
Fri. October 27
9:00AM - 11:00AM F Jonathan Klaren
Sun. October 29
5:00PM - 7:00PM MCR Irene Lee Fiona
Tue. October 31
7:00PM - 9:00PM D Yumi Naomi
Wed. November 1
3:30PM - 4:30PM C Caroline Lavenue Chris Orlando Eric Mitchell VanLandingham Rebekah Young
Thu. November 2
6:00PM - 8:00PM C closed
Fri. November 3
12:30PM - 2:30PM MCR Naomi Rebekah Young
Sun. November 5
2:00PM - 4:00PM F Stephanie Kang
Tue. November 7
7:00PM - 9:00PM B Edgar Vargas
Wed. November 8
12:00PM - 1:00PM C Rebekah Young Will Hanley Mitchell VanLandingham Breana Burgos
3:30PM - 4:30PM C Nicole Vales Sierra Luther Caroline Peake John Darin Jordan Olson
Fri. November 10
9:00AM - 11:00AM MCR John Darin Lauren Marshall
11:00AM - 1:00PM MCR Mitchell VanLandingham
6:00PM - 8:00PM tower fun practice
Sat. November 11
12:00PM - 2:00PM D Susan Tran-Rohrbaugh
Mon. November 13
12:00PM - 1:00PM J Zach Price Mitchell VanLandingham Liz Medrano Irene Lee Swetha Gopalakrishnan
7:00PM - 9:00PM G SEND OFF Fiona Nolan Theurer