Chicago 2L
Chicago
Members: Kyle Mclean, Gaa Reid, Miranda Rowley
Coaches: Gabbi Gallego
Description of Issues:
Laura Kinney, an aspiring local rap artist and LGBT activist, was arrested for possession of cocaine during a pride parade and was later convicted on paraphernalia charges. During her trial, rap lyrics were admitted as evidence of specific intent to distribute despite a motion in limine to exclude them.  During voir dire, the prosecution used its peremptory challenge to strike a juror that was a member of the LGBT community.  The defense raised a Batson challenge, arguing that the prosecution struck him based on his sexual orientation.
The issues on appeal are as follows: 
 
1. Whether the Thirteenth Circuit properly found that the District Court was correct in finding the rap lyrics were admissible under Fed. R. Evid. 404(b) but that the District Court erred in denying the motion in limine under Fed. R. Evid. 403, and if so, whether the error was harmless.
 
2. Whether the Thirteenth Circuit properly held that the Batson test applies to peremptory strikes based on sexual orientation and, that the defendants established purposeful discrimination.
Scheduling Contact: Gabriella Gallego (gallego@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): http://www.chicagobar.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=The_Problem&;Template=/CM/HTMLDisplay.cfm&ContentID=11203
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Fri. October 13
11:00AM - 1:00PM F (CLOSED)
Sun. October 22
3:00PM - 5:00PM E (CLOSED)
Mon. October 23
12:00PM - 1:00PM J (PETITIONER) Irene Lee Sean Anderson Michael Rhoads Andrea Swanson Madeline Landry
7:00PM - 8:00PM J (RESPONDENT) Irene Lee Swetha Gopalakrishnan
Tue. October 24
8:00AM - 9:30AM F
Wed. October 25
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR (PETITIONER) Andrea Swanson Madeline Landry Bekah Young Holly Locke Anushri Mehta
3:30PM - 4:30PM MCR (RESPONDENT)
Thu. October 26
6:00PM - 8:00PM C
Fri. October 27
9:00AM - 11:00AM F
Sun. October 29
5:00PM - 7:00PM MCR Irene Lee Fiona
Tue. October 31
7:00PM - 9:00PM D
Wed. November 1
3:30PM - 4:30PM C Caroline Lavenue
Thu. November 2
6:00PM - 8:00PM MCR
Fri. November 3
11:00AM - 1:00PM MCR
Sun. November 5
2:00PM - 4:00PM F
Tue. November 7
7:00PM - 9:00PM B
Fri. November 10
9:00AM - 11:00AM MCR
11:00AM - 1:00PM MCR
Sat. November 11
12:00PM - 2:00PM D
Sun. November 12
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR
Mon. November 13
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR
7:00PM - 9:00PM G SEND OFF