Williams
LA
Members: Jordan Greenberg, Jackson Stogner, Kelsi Lerner
Coaches: Paige Adaskaveg
Description of Issues:

Description: 

The New Dallas School Board changed its policy on transgender students' access to bathrooms based on a letter written by the Secretary of Education  stating that all students must use shared facilities (including restrooms) consistent with the gender stated on a student’s birth certificate. The school district notified students and parents about their new policy. Upon receiving notification of the School Board’s new policy, A.B. filed suit against the Board in federal district court based on claims of discrimination against her for her transgender status in violation of Title IX.  A.B. asserted that the Lewis Letter is entitled to no judicial deference, and that Title IX prohibits schools from restricting bathroom access to transgender students.  

Despite her argument, the lower court found for the defendant School Board.  A.B. filed a timely appeal, and the 13th Circuit Court of Appeals also found for the School Board. A.B. now appeals to the Supreme Court.

Questions Presented: 

  1. Is the Lewis Letter, issued by U.S. Department of Education in 2017, entitled to judicial deference, and if so, which level of deference is proper?
  2. With or without deference to the Lewis Letter, does Title IX require that federally funded schools allow students to access restrooms consistent with their gender identity?
Scheduling Contact: (paigeadaskaveg@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Paige will send out the bench memo
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Fri. January 19
12:00PM - 1:00PM CLOSED
Mon. January 29
5:00PM - 6:00PM CLOSED
Tue. January 30
7:00PM - 9:00PM C Ashley Ayad Miranda Rowley Kyle McLean Alex Padua
Thu. February 1
8:30AM - 9:30AM E Kaitlin Carragher Jordan Olson Myell Mergaert Sean Anderson Tania Bonilla
Sat. February 3
12:00PM - 2:00PM MCR CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
4:00PM - 5:00PM MCR Irene Lee Miranda
Sun. February 4
1:00PM - 3:00PM MCR Miranda Rowley CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Mon. February 5
5:00PM - 7:00PM MCR Adrienne N Ashley Ayad Alex Padua (6pm-7pm) Kyle McLean
Wed. February 7
7:00PM - 8:00PM 307B CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. February 8
8:30AM - 9:30AM 304 Jordan Olson Jonathan Klaren
Fri. February 9
5:00PM - 6:00PM C Alex Oadu
Sat. February 10
12:00PM - 2:00PM H
4:00PM - 6:00PM H Rachel Steyer
Sun. February 11
10:00AM - 12:00PM 304 Miranda Rowley Alexandra Sepulveda Ben
Mon. February 12
5:00PM - 7:00PM MCR
Wed. February 14
7:00PM - 8:00PM G VanLandingham, J. CLOSED CLOSEDCLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. February 15
8:30AM - 9:30AM MCR Kaitlin Carragher Sarah Casey
Fri. February 16
8:30AM - 9:30AM C Stephen Tollafield
Sat. February 17
10:00AM - 12:00PM C
2:00PM - 4:00PM 304 Francesca Reifer
Sun. February 18
1:00PM - 3:00PM MCR
Mon. February 19
5:00PM - 7:00PM Tower 4th Floor Conference Room Nicole Vales
Tue. February 20
7:00PM - 9:00PM G
Wed. February 21
7:00PM - 8:00PM H Miranda Rowley Jillian Kaltner Matthew Coles Natalie Franzini
Fri. February 23
5:00PM - 7:00PM FUN PRACTICE TOWER 404 jeremy kirshner tamar burke Kyle McLean
Sun. February 25
3:30PM - 5:30PM DRESS PRACTICE MCR
Tue. February 27
7:00PM - 8:00PM MCR VanLandingham, J. Naomi Erin Park Alex Winding Sierra Luther
Thu. March 1
8:30AM - 9:30AM MCR-SEND OFF! erin lanier Jonathan Klaren Matthew Coles