NAAC - Petitioner
San Francisco - District Court
Members: Jennifer Bentley, Will Hanley, and Joe Dietrich
Coaches: Yuping Lin
Description of Issues:

This year's NAAC problem involves the application of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) to investigations, arrests, and non-custodial police interviews of persons with mental illness. Petitioner Carson City is appealing the Thirteenth Circuit Court of Appeals’ decision to reverse the trial court’s order granting Carson City’s Motion for Summary Judgment on all of Respondents claims under Title II of the ADA.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED:

  1. Whether Title II of the ADA authorizes a claim against a municipal entity based on the failure of law enforcement officers to modify standard on-the-ground investigation and arrest procedures when confronting an individual with known mental illness and neurological impairment.

  2. Whether Title II of the ADA requires a municipal entity to make modifications to its interview procedures when doing a non-custodial stationhouse interview of an individual with a known mental illness and cognitive impairment.
Scheduling Contact: Yuping Lin (yupinglin@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Bench memorandum: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1aGhAvkXPKA0rHEQRldFov8raDzu2TJ2W/view?usp=sharing
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Thu. January 18
12:00PM - 1:00PM (CLOSED) CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. January 24
12:00PM - 1:00PM (CLOSED) CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. January 25
12:00PM - 1:00PM C Nicole Vales Jordan Olson Reid Gaa Galindo
Mon. January 29
12:00PM - 1:00PM E Irene Lee Miranda Rowley Katie Grainger Amy Mikayla O'Neal
Tue. January 30
6:00PM - 8:00PM 307B Laura Anderson Joe Dell Nicole Vales
Thu. February 1
4:30PM - 6:30PM J Mitch Song Adrienne Subido Sierra Luther Nicole Vales
Mon. February 5
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Irene Lee Mitch Song Karlens Direny Shandyn H. Pierce Maddy LS
Tue. February 6
6:00PM - 8:00PM MCR Paige Adaskaveg VanLandingham, J. Alex Padua
Thu. February 8
4:30PM - 6:30PM J Mitch Song Miranda Rowley Gabbi Kyle McLean
Sun. February 11
10:00AM - 12:00PM E CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
1:00PM - 3:00PM MCR Laura Anderson JOINT PRACTICE
Tue. February 13
6:00PM - 8:00PM F JOINT PRACTICE Scott Marshall Simone van Ommeren VanLandingham, J.
Thu. February 15
12:00PM - 1:00PM H Mitch Song Karlens Direny Shandyn H. Pierce Scott Marshall Ruby Zapien
Tue. February 20
6:00PM - 8:00PM F JOINT PRACTICE Kelly Matayoshi Alex Padua
Thu. February 22
4:30PM - 6:30PM MCR Mitch Song Adrienne Subido
Sat. February 24
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Adam Arce
1:00PM - 3:00PM MCR
Sun. February 25
10:00AM - 12:00PM C
1:00PM - 3:00PM C
Tue. February 27
6:00PM - 8:00PM F Simone van Ommeren-Akelma