NAAC - Respondent
San Francisco
Members: Erin Gurewitz, Justin Bargar, and Karen Martinez
Coaches: Reid Gaa
Description of Issues:

This year's problem focuses on how Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) applies to law enforcement activity, specifically arrests and stationhouse interviews. Respondents Chuck Gaines and Brittany Fields, who both suffer from mental illness, seek to affirm the Thirteenth Circuit's decision that Gaines has a triable claim under Title II of the ADA. Additionally, Respondents seek to affirm the decision that law enforcement is required to make reasonable modifications to its interview procedures when it is obvious or known that the interviewee suffers from mental illness or cognitive impairment.

Issues Presented:

I. Whether Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act authorizes a claim against a municipal entity based on the failure of law enforcement officers to modify standard on-the-ground investigation and arrest procedures when confronting an individual with known mental illness and neurological impairment.

II. Whether Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act requires a municipal entity to make modifications to its interview procedures when doing a non-custodial stationhouse interview of an individual with a known mental illness and cognitive impairment

 

Scheduling Contact: Reid Gaa (reid.gaa@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Bench Memo: https://docs.google.com/document/d/12I_B8RkBbei7KhZDMw3n_hbp5oe8JSyPIzEz8CwD9Js/edit?usp=sharing
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Mon. January 22
6:00PM - 8:00PM F Closed Closed Closed Closed Closed
Wed. January 24
12:00PM - 1:00PM E Closed Closed Closed Closed Closed
Fri. January 26
3:30PM - 5:30PM J Miranda Rowley Nicole Vales Sierra Luther VanLandingham, J. Jordan Olson
Sun. January 28
1:00PM - 3:00PM E Miranda Rowley
Mon. January 29
6:00PM - 8:00PM B2 Miranda Rowley Alex Padua Andrew Kyle McLean
Wed. January 31
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Laura Anderson Victoria Ayeni Jordan Olson Stephanie Richardson Paige Adaskaveg
Fri. February 2
3:30PM - 5:30PM MCR Kirche Ray VanLandingham, J. Kyle McLean
Mon. February 5
6:00PM - 8:00PM F
Tue. February 6
7:00PM - 9:00PM M120
Wed. February 7
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Maddy LS Breana Burgos Yuping Lin Laura Anderson Jordan Olson
Fri. February 9
3:30PM - 5:30PM F Cameron Sheron VanLandingham, J. Adrienne Subido
Sun. February 11
1:00PM - 5:00PM MCR Irene Lee Andrew Ohlert Brandon Shiener
Mon. February 12
6:00PM - 8:00PM H Andrew Ohlert
Tue. February 13
6:00PM - 8:00PM F Joint Practice
Wed. February 14
12:00PM - 1:00PM F Madeline Landry Ramon Becerra-Alcantar William Tran Maddy LS JR
Fri. February 16
3:30PM - 5:30PM D Closed Line by Line
Sun. February 18
1:00PM - 3:00PM C Kyle McLean
Tue. February 20
7:00PM - 9:00PM E
Wed. February 21
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Adam Arce Madeline Landry Maddy LS Eric Schmoll
Fri. February 23
3:30PM - 5:30PM MCR Nicole Vales Sierra Luther Gabbi
Sun. February 25
1:00PM - 3:00PM G Megan Blass Joy Siu
Wed. February 28
12:00PM - 1:00PM B1