Evans Con Law (Respondent)
Madison, Wisconsin
Members: Tamar Burke, Ben Russi
Coaches: Alumni Coach: Patrick Burns; Student Coach: Alex Padua
Description of Issues:

On December 2016, Stewart "Stewie" Griffin brought an action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, asserting that the State of Quahog's requirements for obtaining a public-carry permit and the State's law prohibiting undocumented aliens from using or possessing firearms contravene the Second Amendment.  Griffin sought injunctive and declaratory relief from the State's laws.  Griffin's complaint named Tom Tucker, in his official capacity as Attorney General for the State of Quahog, as the defendant.  Both of Griffin's claims were dismissed upon Tucker's motion for summary judgment.  On appeal, the Thirteenth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed the ruling of the district court as to both claims.

The Supreme Court of the United States certifies the following two questions:

1.) Whether the Second Amendment right to possess and use firearms extends to undocumented aliens living in the United States.  If so, does QUA. STAT. § 11-47-64(b)(3), which broadly prohibits undocumented aliens from possessing any firearm or ammunition, violate that right?

2.) Whether state laws that place onerous restrictions on individuals' ability to carry handguns in public are permissible under the Second Amendment.  If so, is QUA. STAT § 11-47-60 unconstitutional?

Scheduling Contact: Alex Padua (ajpadua@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Bench Memo: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ovQGt3_u-1YjPDgbDA4jjdY4GnzXu__KTxN11izGHoc/edit?usp=sharing
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Fri. January 26
12:00PM - 1:00PM 312 PRE-SUBMISSION PRACTICE
Sat. February 3
10:00AM - 11:00AM MCR - CLOSED PRACTICE CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Mon. February 5
4:40PM - 5:40PM 312
Tue. February 6
3:30PM - 4:30PM F Yuping Lin Laura Anderson Jordan Olson
Wed. February 7
12:00PM - 1:00PM E Kaitlin Carragher Sierra Luther Paige Adaskaveg Maria Avalos
Thu. February 8
7:00PM - 9:00PM J
Fri. February 9
10:00AM - 12:00PM K
Sat. February 10
10:00AM - 12:00PM C Irene Lee
1:00PM - 3:00PM J Cameron Sheron Adrienne Subido
Mon. February 12
4:40PM - 5:40PM 312 gabbi Kyle McLean Naomi
7:00PM - 9:00PM K - CLOSED PRACTICE CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Tue. February 13
3:30PM - 4:30PM C Francesca Reifer Yuping Lin Eric Schmoll Bekah Young
Wed. February 14
12:00PM - 1:00PM K Brittany Chris Orlando Paige Adaskaveg
7:00PM - 9:00PM J
Thu. February 15
7:00PM - 9:00PM C Jackson Stogner
Fri. February 16
10:00AM - 12:00PM K
Sun. February 18
12:00PM - 2:00PM J
Tue. February 20
3:30PM - 4:30PM MCR Yuping Lin Brandon Shiener
Wed. February 21
12:00PM - 1:00PM C- SUITS PRACTICE Kaitlin Carragher Will Hanley Caroline Sir Brian Pham
7:00PM - 9:00PM MCR
Fri. February 23
3:00PM - 5:00PM K
Sat. February 24
1:00PM - 3:00PM Tower 404 - FUN PRACTICE!
Sun. February 25
1:00PM - 3:00PM K
Mon. February 26
7:00PM - 9:00PM G- SEND OFF PRACTICE! Kaitlin Carragher