Prince Evidence
Brooklyn, N.Y.
Members: Gabriella Gallego and Alyxandra Vernon
Coaches: Naomi Strauss and Paige Adaskaveg
Description of Issues:

I.  The Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment prohibits the admission of out-ofcourt, testimonial statements in a criminal trial, unless the defendant is afforded a prior opportunity to cross-examine the declarant of the statement. The translator that interpreted Ms. Spector’s statements during an interview is unavailable to testify at Ms. Spector’s trial. Does admitting the translation without providing Ms. Spector a prior opportunity for cross-examination violate her Sixth Amendment right to confrontation?

II.  Under the Fifth Amendment, immunity is provided at a defendant’s criminal trial for use and derivative use of their compelled statements. After Ms. Spector was compelled to speak to Remsen officials, a recording of the interrogation was released to the public, which helped aid the FBI’s investigation. Is Ms. Spector entitled to derivative use immunity and must a Kastigar hearing be held?

III.  The Fifth Amendment states that no person shall be compelled to be a witness against themselves through the privilege against self-incrimination. Ms. Spector had the right to remain silent when an FBI agent made accusatory statements to her after she was arrested, but before her Miranda rights were read. Should the Government be allowed to use Ms. Spector’s pre-Miranda custodial silence to prove guilt?

Scheduling Contact: Paige Adaskaveg (paigeadaskaveg@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Via email.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Thu. February 15
12:00PM - 1:00PM D VanLandingham, J. Deepti Prabhakar Carson Riley
Fri. February 16
3:00PM - 5:00PM MCR VanLandingham, J. Kyle McLean
Mon. February 19
11:00AM - 1:00PM School Holiday-TBD
Tue. February 20
3:30PM - 4:30PM C Eric Schmoll JR Emma Naan Francesca
Wed. February 21
5:00PM - 6:30PM MCR Reid Gaa
Thu. February 22
3:30PM - 5:30PM 307B Laura Anderson
7:00PM - 9:00PM B CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED
Fri. February 23
12:00PM - 2:00PM MCR Madison DiZinno Alex Padua Brittany
Sun. February 25
11:00AM - 1:00PM F
Mon. February 26
6:30PM - 8:30PM 312
Tue. February 27
3:30PM - 4:30PM MCR Monika Jillian Kaltner Alexandra Sepulveda Yuping Lin Jonathan Klaren
Wed. February 28
6:00PM - 8:00PM MCR Mike Osgood
Thu. March 1
3:30PM - 5:30PM 307B Maddy LS
7:00PM - 9:00PM MCR Matt Olhausen
Fri. March 2
1:30PM - 3:30PM F Matt Olhausen Professor Little Professor Price Alexandra Sepulveda
Thu. March 8
12:00PM - 2:00PM D Michael Rhoads Kyle McLean
Fri. March 9
10:00AM - 12:00PM B Matt Olhausen Alexandra Sepulveda Governor Rutherford Victor Smith
2:00PM - 4:00PM F Matt Olhausen VanLandingham
Sat. March 10
1:00PM - 3:00PM MCR Brooke Murphy
5:00PM - 7:00PM 410
Sun. March 11
3:00PM - 5:00PM D Jonathan Klaren Jess Dabiri
Mon. March 12
6:00PM - 8:00PM MCR SEND OFF COME THRU Fiona