Fed Bar
Washington, D.C.
Members: Jonathan Klaren and Nicole Vales
Coaches: Student Coach: Brittany Smith. Alumni Coaches: Jessica Dabiri and Kenneth Taketa.
Description of Issues:

Questions Presented:

I. Whether in the case of an Indian child custody dispute, a federal district court is a court of competent jurisdiction for the purpose of interpreting the controlling federal statute.

II. Whether the non-racially based preference in the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA), necessary to serve the compelling purpose to ensure the integrity of Indian culture, maintains the constitutional guarantee of equal protection.

Scheduling Contact: Brittany Smith - brittanysmith@uchastings.edu ()
Document(s): Bench memo is available here: https://goo.gl/SBbACX. Problem is available here: https://goo.gl/dMWngA.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Mon. February 12
7:00PM - 8:00PM A CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. February 14
7:00PM - 8:00PM MC CONFERENCE CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. February 21
12:00PM - 1:00PM K Officer Ricky Toclafane Adrienne Subido
Thu. February 22
3:30PM - 5:30PM 395 (200 BLDG) Justice Assad
6:00PM - 8:00PM 307B VanLandingham, J.
Mon. February 26
3:30PM - 4:30PM B Noura Paige Adaskaveg
7:00PM - 8:00PM B Monika Kenny
Wed. February 28
12:00PM - 1:00PM F Monika erin r lanier Eisha Ashley Ayad John Darin
3:30PM - 5:30PM B2 Maddy LS Sierra Luther
Thu. March 1
3:30PM - 4:30PM F Sierra Luther justice erin r lanier
6:30PM - 8:00PM C CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Mon. March 12
3:30PM - 4:30PM K Jennifer Bentley Ryan Snyder Alex Padua
7:00PM - 9:00PM K Eisha Sierra Luther Fiona claudia grajeda
Tue. March 13
8:00PM - 10:00PM F Eisha Jillian Kaltner Saachi Sharma Virginia Millacci
Wed. March 14
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Claudia Grajeda Ram Vaidyanathan Anushri Mehta Luke Hendrickson
7:00PM - 10:00PM H Erin r lanier Eisha Alex Padua
Thu. March 15
3:30PM - 5:30PM H Evan Seeder Reid Gaa Fiona Brandon Shiener Gregory A. White
7:00PM - 9:00PM MCR Addie Erin r lanier Sierra Luther Sara Khorasani EB
Fri. March 16
11:30AM - 12:30PM MCR Emily Uhlig Noura (11-11:50) Jake Winton
12:30PM - 1:30PM MCR Debra Zepeda Miranda Rowley Alex Padua Caitlin Fuller Jillian Kaltner
Sat. March 17
11:00AM - 12:00PM E CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Eric Schmoll erin r lanier Deborah Brundy Scott Marshall Erik Hakopian
Mon. March 19
11:00AM - 1:00PM WHITE & CASE DC
Tue. March 20
12:00PM - 2:30PM WHITE & CASE DC
Wed. March 21
7:30AM - 10:00AM WHITE & CASE DC
Thu. March 22
7:00AM - 10:00AM WHITE & CASE DC