Zavala v. Rios
San Francisco
Members: Gabbi Gallego and Francesca Reifer
Coaches: Leah Spero
Description of Issues:

1. Whether, in light of the Supreme Court’s recent decision in Ziglar v. Abbasi, 137 S. Ct. 1843 (2017) (“Abbasi”), there exists a Fifth Amendment damages remedy under Bivens in the context of prison mail.

2. Whether the Government is entitled to qualified immunity on Mr. Zavala's due process claim.

Scheduling Contact: Gabbi Gallego (
Document(s): Team will send out bench memo.
Thu. March 8
2:00PM - 3:00PM F
Fri. March 9
4:00PM - 5:00PM F VanLandingham
Mon. March 12
2:30PM - 3:30PM 304 Monica Price Monica Price Bekah Young Alex Padua
Mon. March 19
2:30PM - 3:30PM 304 Maddy LS Sabah Khokhar Claudia Ren Sabah Khokhar Ally Girouard
Tue. March 20
1:00PM - 2:00PM D Irene Lee Gian Ryan Lydia Carnevale Eric Schmoll Andrea Cristiani
Mon. March 26
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Emily Uhlig Maddy LS Pedram Ghoreishi
2:30PM - 3:30PM MCR Will Hanley Amit Kurlekar Fiona
Wed. March 28
5:00PM - 6:00PM MCR
Thu. March 29
5:00PM - 6:00PM D
Mon. April 2
12:00PM - 1:00PM C Will Hanley Karen Martinez
2:30PM - 3:30PM C David Levine
Tue. April 3
1:00PM - 2:00PM MCR Alyx Vernon
Wed. April 4
5:00PM - 6:00PM MCR
Thu. April 5
5:00PM - 6:00PM MCR
Mon. April 9
12:00PM - 1:00PM F Sara Henderson
2:30PM - 3:30PM MCR Sara Henderson
Tue. April 10
1:00PM - 2:00PM MCR Sara Henderson
Wed. April 11
3:30PM - 4:30PM MCR