Zavala v. Rios
San Francisco
Members: Gabbi Gallego and Francesca Reifer
Coaches: Leah Spero
Description of Issues:

1. Whether, in light of the Supreme Court’s recent decision in Ziglar v. Abbasi, 137 S. Ct. 1843 (2017) (“Abbasi”), there exists a Fifth Amendment damages remedy under Bivens in the context of prison mail.

2. Whether the Government is entitled to qualified immunity on Mr. Zavala's due process claim.

Scheduling Contact: Gabbi Gallego (gallego@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Team will send out bench memo.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Thu. March 8
2:00PM - 3:00PM F
Fri. March 9
4:00PM - 5:00PM F VanLandingham
Mon. March 12
2:30PM - 3:30PM 304 Monica Price Monica Price Bekah Young Alex Padua
Mon. March 19
2:30PM - 3:30PM 304 Maddy LS Sabah Khokhar Claudia Ren Sabah Khokhar Ally Girouard
Tue. March 20
1:00PM - 2:00PM D Irene Lee Gian Ryan Lydia Carnevale Eric Schmoll Andrea Cristiani
Mon. March 26
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Emily Uhlig Maddy LS Pedram Ghoreishi Ryan Neil Gonzales
2:30PM - 3:30PM MCR Will Hanley Amit Kurlekar Fiona Casarrubias, C.J.
Wed. March 28
5:00PM - 6:00PM MCR Sloka Tankala Ross Vartain JR
Thu. March 29
5:00PM - 6:00PM D Cancelled Cancelled
Mon. April 2
12:00PM - 1:00PM C Will Hanley Karen Martinez Sloka Tankala Ross Vartain Maddy LS
2:30PM - 3:30PM C David Levine Miranda Emily Uhlig Paige Adaskaveg
Tue. April 3
1:00PM - 2:00PM MCR Alyx Vernon Emily Uhlig
Wed. April 4
12:00PM - 1:00PM C Madeline Landry Miranda Paige Adaskaveg Maddy LS
Fri. April 6
9:00AM - 10:00AM J
Mon. April 9
8:40AM - 9:40AM F Sara Henderson Ross Vartain Miranda Rowley Alyx Vernon Mara Sackman
Tue. April 10
8:40AM - 9:40AM C Sara Henderson Ross Vartain
Wed. April 11
3:30PM - 4:30PM MCR Amit kurlekar