Tang 2L Petitioner (Mattu/Nguyen)
Seattle, WA
Members: Tina Nguyen, Navneet Mattu
Coaches: Student Coach: Swetha Gopalakrishnan; Alumni Coach: Vincent Lee
Description of Issues:

Plaintiff Isa Camacho (“Camacho”), a student at the University of Apalsa’s School of Law, was subject to discipline by the University for conduct that “disrupts the expressive rights of others” and subsequently expelled for violating the professionalism requirements of the law school’s honor code.

I. Whether a state university may impose disciplinary sanctions on a student for non-curricular expressive conduct otherwise protected by the First Amendment in order to protect the expressive rights of others.


II. Whether a state university may expel a law student based on university officials’ determination that her off-campus expressive activity, otherwise protected by the First Amendment, violates the professionalism standards governing attorneys.

Scheduling Contact: Swetha Gopalakrishnan (swethagopalakrishnan@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Materials will be emailed to the judges. Please contact the student coach at swethagopalakrishnan@uchastings.edu if you do not receive them 24 hours prior to practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Sat. September 8
12:00PM - 1:00PM Room D CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Sun. September 16
10:00AM - 11:00AM Room 404, Tower CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Tue. September 25
6:00PM - 8:00PM Room E CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. September 27
8:30AM - 9:30AM MCR Amrita Sethi Elizabeth Silva
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Madison DiZinno Breana Burgos Holly Locke Miranda Rowley Bekah Young
Sat. September 29
1:00PM - 3:00PM Room F Adam Arce
4:00PM - 6:00PM Room F
Sun. September 30
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Sarah Casey
Mon. October 1
6:00PM - 8:00PM Room C Adam Arce
Tue. October 2
7:00PM - 9:00PM Room J Kyle Mclean Joe Dietrich Wayne Unger Madison DiZinno
Thu. October 4
8:30AM - 9:30AM Room F Gian Gualco-Nelson Elizabeth Silva Amrita Sethi Reed Horowitz
12:00PM - 1:00PM Room C Katheryn Wenger Sarah Casey
Sun. October 7
10:00AM - 12:00PM Line-by-Line/Room E CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
1:00PM - 3:00PM Line-by-Line/M120 CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Tue. October 9
7:00PM - 9:00PM Room G Miranda Joe Dietrich Alex Padua Justin Bargar Nicole Vales
Fri. October 12
6:00PM - 8:00PM Simulation Practice/Room H
Sat. October 13
12:00PM - 2:00PM MCR/Joint Practice Adam Arce Alex Padua
3:00PM - 5:00PM Fun Practice/Room 410, Tower Adam Arce
Sun. October 14
11:00AM - 1:00PM Stop-and-Go/Room 404, Tower CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Mon. October 15
6:00PM - 8:00PM MCR
Thu. October 18
8:30AM - 9:30AM Room E Brian Hawkinson
12:00PM - 1:00PM Room F Madison DiZinno Neriah Yue Ariella Kupetz
Sat. October 20
1:00PM - 3:00PM MCR/Joint Practice
4:00PM - 6:00PM MCR/Joint Practice Adam Arce
Sun. October 21
10:00AM - 12:00PM Room E
Tue. October 23
6:30PM - 8:30PM Send-Off/MCR Rachel Steyer Madison DiZinno