Hastings Appellate Project - Aguirre v. Whitaker
San Francisco
Members: Jennifer Bentley, Bekah Young
Coaches: Leah Spero, Gary Watt, Stephen Tollafield
Description of Issues:

The BIA Erred by Not Terminating Proceedings Based on Mr. Aguirre's Incompetence Because the Presence of Counsel Was an Insufficient Safeguard Given Mr. Aguirre's "Severely Impaired" Ability to Communicate.    

Although Mr. Aguirre Should be Given the Opportunity to Treat His Condition, This Court Should Find That Substantial Evidence Does Not Support the Denial of His CAT Claims.  

Alternatively, In Light of New Case Law, This Court Should Remand For Reconsideration of Whether Mr. Aguirre's Prior Offense is a "Particularly Serious Crime."

Scheduling Contact: Bekah Young (rebekah.young@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): --
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Wed. January 30
11:00AM - 12:00PM E CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. January 31
12:00PM - 1:00PM D CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Fri. February 1
11:00AM - 12:00PM 312 CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. February 6
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. February 7
10:30AM - 11:30AM MCR
Fri. February 8
2:00PM - 3:00PM MCR Brittany Miranda
Wed. February 13
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Madison DiZinno Tina Nguyen Megan Bettles Atrina Mehdipour Miranda
Thu. February 14
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Megan Bettles Nick Hunt Kaitlin Carragher Yena Amrita Sethi
Fri. February 15
10:00AM - 11:00AM 312 CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. February 20
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Megan Bettles Miranda Eric LS Addie
Thu. February 21
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Fri. February 22
2:00PM - 3:00PM MCR Miranda
Wed. February 27
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Irene Lee
Thu. February 28
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Erin Rosenberg Dani Moss
Wed. March 6
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Tami Fisher
Thu. March 7
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Swetha Gopalakrishnan
Fri. March 8
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR
Mon. March 11
3:30PM - 4:30PM MCR
Tue. March 12
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR
Wed. March 13
11:00AM - 12:00PM MCR