Newseum
Washington, D.C.
Members: Erin Lanier and Nicole Vales
Coaches: Adrienne Subido (student coach) and Jessica Dabiri (alumni coach)
Description of Issues:

This case centers on a conflict between the University of Arivada (University), one of the nation's leading public institutions of higher learning, and Valentina Maria Vega. Ms. Vega was a sophomore at the University's School of Arts and Sciences at the time of the events at issue in this proceeding. On September 12, 2017, the University suspended Ms. Vega after concluding that she had violated the University's Campus Free Speech Policy (Policy) for a second time by materially and substantially infringing upon the rights of others to engage in and listen to expressive activity. The incident at issue here occurred during a speech given by Samuel Payne Drake, Executive Director of "Stop Immigration Now" (SIN), at an event hosted by the University's chapter of "American Students for America" (ASFA).

Issues:

I. Whether the University's Free Speech Campus Policy is unconstitutionally vague and overbroad.

II. Whether the University's Free Speech Campus Policy, even if constitutional on its face, is unconstitutional as applied to Ms. Vega.

Scheduling Contact: Adrienne Subido (Adrienne.Subido@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Materials will be emailed to judges before practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Wed. February 6
12:00PM - 1:00PM K Ashley Ayad
Sat. February 9
5:00PM - 7:00PM G Ashley Ayad Brittany Reid Shannon Davis Nick Hunt
Mon. February 11
12:00PM - 1:00PM E Madison DiZinno Tina Nguyen Navneet
Wed. February 13
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Mikayla
Thu. February 14
10:30AM - 12:30PM 410 (100) Brittany
Mon. February 18
12:00PM - 1:00PM G Madison DiZinno CANCELLED MOVED TO 5:00PM
5:00PM - 7:00PM TBD
Wed. February 20
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Ava Agree
Sun. February 24
10:00AM - 12:00PM K Miranda
Mon. February 25
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR
Tue. February 26
5:30PM - 7:30PM 410 (100)
Wed. February 27
12:00PM - 1:00PM C Julia Covello
Mon. March 11
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Madison DiZinno
Wed. March 13
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR
Thu. March 14
10:30AM - 12:30PM C Yena Kim
Sat. March 16
10:00AM - 12:00PM 410 (100)
Mon. March 18
12:00PM - 1:00PM J Madison DiZinno
Tue. March 19
8:00AM - 9:30AM MCR Swetha Gopalakrishnan