Asylum Petitioner
Davis, CA
Members: Holly Locke, Matt Richardson
Coaches: Breana Burgos
Description of Issues:
  1. Whether disfavored group analysis is a valid basis to establish a well-founded fear of persecution for the purposes of asylum eligibility, because Ms. Marcos showed a subjective fear and objectively reasonable possibility of persecution.

  2. Whether it was improper for Ms. Marcos to bear the burden of demonstrating if substantial evidence supported a finding that future persecution could be avoided by internal relocation, because the case should have been remanded to define “government- sponsored.”

Scheduling Contact: Breana Burgos (burgos@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Coach will e-mail bench memo
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Wed. February 6
12:00PM - 1:00PM H Mikayla
Fri. February 8
7:30PM - 8:30PM MCR Mikayla Paige
Sun. February 10
10:00AM - 12:00PM F
12:00PM - 2:00PM F Mikayla O'Neal
Mon. February 11
8:30AM - 9:30AM E Navneet
12:00PM - 1:00PM J Bekah Young Amrita Sethi
Wed. February 13
12:00PM - 1:00PM K CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Sat. February 16
11:00AM - 1:00PM 201
1:00PM - 3:00PM 314
Mon. February 18
12:00PM - 2:00PM C Irene Lee
Wed. February 20
12:00PM - 1:00PM B
Sat. February 23
11:00AM - 1:00PM J
1:00PM - 3:00PM J (FUN)
Mon. February 25
8:30AM - 9:30AM MCR
12:00PM - 1:00PM E
Wed. February 27
12:00PM - 1:00PM F Sarah Casey Engram Wilkinson