Wechsler First Amendment
Washington, D.C.
Members: Madi DiZinno, Bre Burgos
Coaches: Nick Hunt, Mark D'Argenio
Description of Issues:

(1) Whether an individual can be a libel-proof plaintiff under defamation law solely on the basis of past criminal convictions, including a felony, that have gained no notoriety or public attention?

(2) Whether the challenged statements in this case qualify as unprotected defamation or protected rhetorical hyperbole?

Scheduling Contact: nicholas.hunt@uchastings.edu (nicholas.hunt@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Materials will be distributed prior to practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Mon. September 30
12:00PM - 1:00PM K - CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Tue. October 1
7:00PM - 9:00PM K Mikayla Victoria Ayeni Atrina
Wed. October 2
3:30PM - 5:00PM B Yena Nikayla Johnson Tina
7:30PM - 9:00PM B Cady Broxon
Thu. October 3
1:00PM - 2:30PM 304 Cady Broxon Yena Michelle Dong
Fri. October 4
2:00PM - 4:00PM D emma fuller Victoria Ayeni
Sun. October 6
1:00PM - 3:00PM D miranda rowley CJ Connolly
Mon. October 7
3:30PM - 5:00PM B Atrina
Tue. October 8
4:30PM - 6:00PM K Yena Atrina Laura Tovar Victoria Ayeni
7:00PM - 9:00PM K
Wed. October 9
12:00PM - 1:00PM B Victoria Ayeni Atrina elizabeth glomstad Michelle Dong
3:30PM - 4:30PM B Yena Emma Hyndman (1L, MIT) Kristin Choi
Fri. October 11
12:00PM - 2:00PM A emma fuller Michelle Dong
Sat. October 12
11:00AM - 1:00PM D
1:00PM - 3:00PM D
Mon. October 14
11:30AM - 1:00PM K
Tue. October 15
4:30PM - 6:00PM K Victoria Ayeni Atrina
7:00PM - 9:00PM K Laura
Wed. October 16
3:30PM - 4:30PM J Victoria Ayeni elizabeth glomstad
7:30PM - 9:00PM K
Fri. October 18
12:00PM - 1:30PM B Victoria Ayeni Michelle Dong
1:30PM - 3:00PM B
Sat. October 19
11:00AM - 1:00PM MCR
1:00PM - 3:00PM TBD - Fun Practice Mikayla Yena Nav Cady
Mon. October 21
11:30AM - 1:00PM MCR Yena Victoria Ayeni
Tue. October 22
7:30PM - 9:00PM MCR - Send Off! Mikayla emma fuller Cady