2L Health Law
Illinois
Members: Madison Boucher, Kristin Lahaszow, Lex Townsley
Coaches: Zach Garrison
Description of Issues:

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

  1. Courts have a duty to decide cases and controversies properly presented to them. However, on limited occasions, the political question doctrine requires judicial abstention when resolving the claim would interfere with the legislative and executive branches. Does this doctrine prevent adjudication of Petitioner's public nuisance claim, when the factors outlined in Baker v. Carr are applied, even though the doctrine is narrow and one of limited application?
  2. In Lincoln, a public nuisance is an unreasonable interference with a right common to the general public. Through disingenuous marketing and distribution practices, Respondents consistently downplay the risks of opioid use. Does Petitioner state a plausible claim for public nuisance, when they assert these practices created an opioid crisis in Lincoln, and thus, unreasonably interfere with Lincoln citizens’ public rights?
Scheduling Contact: zach.garrison@uchastings.edu (zach.garrison@uchastings.edu)
Document(s):
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Mon. September 16
7:00PM - 8:30PM closed
Wed. September 18
9:40AM - 10:40AM closed
Fri. September 20
12:00PM - 1:30AM closed closed closed closed closed closed
Sun. September 22
12:00PM - 2:00AM closed closed closed closed closed closed
Mon. September 23
7:00PM - 8:30PM C Yena Amrita Terré A Block Shandyn Pierce Stephanie Richardson
Wed. September 25
6:30PM - 7:30PM K Madi Jacob Barrera
Fri. September 27
12:00PM - 1:30AM H Emma Fuller Shandyn Pierce Marah Bragdon Andrew Newcomb Amrita Sethi
Mon. September 30
7:00PM - 8:30PM C Madi Yena Stephanie Richardson Jacob Barrera
Wed. October 2
9:40AM - 10:40AM C Breana Emma Fuller Madi Mikayla
Fri. October 4
12:00PM - 1:30AM D Amrita Sethi Breana Julia Covello Nick Hunt Shandyn Pierce
Sun. October 6
12:00PM - 2:00AM F Amrita Sethi Amalia Bowley Fuentes CJ Connolly Andrew Wu Jasper Ford-Monroe
Mon. October 7
7:00PM - 8:30PM C Yena Julia Covello Amrita Sethi Nick Hunt Atrina
Wed. October 9
9:40AM - 10:40AM C Emma Fuller Cady Navneet Tina
Sun. October 13
12:00PM - 2:00AM J Madi Amrita Sethi Breana Mikayla
Mon. October 14
7:00PM - 8:30PM C Yena Madi Kat Sundberg CJ Connolly Michael Guan
Wed. October 16
6:30PM - 8:00PM C Alec Amrita Sethi
Fri. October 18
10:00AM - 12:00PM J Madi Amrita Sethi Breana Maya Galicia-Canto
1:00PM - 2:00PM J Madi Laura Tovar Gian Gualco-Nelson
Sun. October 20
12:00PM - 2:00PM MCR CJ Connolly Katy Hetherington Amrita Sethi Edward Encinias Cady
Mon. October 21
1:30PM - 3:00PM MCR Mariya Waheed Madi
7:00PM - 8:30PM C Laura Tovar Sara Zeimer christine said Geoffrey Fitzpatrick Amul Kalia
Wed. October 23
6:30PM - 8:00PM K Emma Fuller Alec Victoria Ayeni
Fri. October 25
12:00PM - 1:30PM MCR Rob Schwartz Victoria Ayeni Emerald Tsui Ashley Quan Julia Covello
Sun. October 27
12:00PM - 2:00PM 404 CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Mon. October 28
7:00PM - 8:30PM MCR