NYU Immigration
NYU School of Law
Members: Maya Galicia-Canto & Olivia Medina
Coaches: David Casarrubias (alumni coach) & Navneet Mattu (student coach)
Description of Issues:

1) Whether section 1252(e)(2)(B) of the Immigration and Nationality Act unconstitutionally limits federal courts from reviewing the habeas petition of a noncitizen who is designated for expedited removal pursuant to section 1225(b)(1)?

2) Whether the Board of Immigration Appeals’ interpretation of “particular social group” under section 1158 of the Immigration and Nationality Act requiring “particularity” and “social distinction” is a reasonable interpretation of the statute? And whether application of the statute to sex trafficking victims forecloses their asylum claims?

Scheduling Contact: Navneet Mattu (nkmattu@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): A bench memo will be emailed to judges prior to the scheduled practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Tue. January 7
6:30PM - 8:00PM CLOSED / MC Conference Room
Wed. January 8
2:30PM - 4:30PM C Mariya Waheed Mikayla Madi cady
Thu. January 9
12:00PM - 1:00PM CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Fri. January 10
3:30PM - 4:30PM E CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Sat. January 11
12:00PM - 2:00PM MCR Engram Wilkinson Lex Townsley Nick
Mon. January 13
3:30PM - 4:30PM 307B Atrina Yena Sara Zeimer Mariya Waheed CJ Connolly
6:30PM - 8:00PM CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. January 15
2:30PM - 3:30PM C Madison Boucher Tina Lex Townsley Kimberly Macey 2:30-3:30 Mariya Waheed
Thu. January 16
11:00AM - 12:00PM E Hilda Kajbaf Madi Cindy Muro
Fri. January 17
12:00PM - 2:00PM D CJ Connolly Lex Townsley Hilda Kajbaf Alexandra McInturf Engram Wilkinson
Sat. January 18
10:00AM - 12:00PM CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
12:00PM - 2:00PM CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Mon. January 20
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Madi Kimberly Macey
3:30PM - 4:30PM CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED
6:30PM - 8:00PM CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED
Tue. January 21
6:30PM - 8:00PM MCR Atrina (7-8) Amrita
Wed. January 22
2:30PM - 4:30PM M120 Rachel Winer 3:30-4:30 Tina Nguyen Mariya Waheed Julia Covello Sara Zeimer
Thu. January 23
12:00PM - 1:00PM E Adam Millard Rachel Winer Katrina Uyehara Katie Scull Amrita
Fri. January 24
12:00PM - 1:30PM E Katy Hetherington Julia Covello Geoffrey Fitzpatrick brittany.stahl Kimberly Macey
1:30PM - 3:00PM TBD
3:00PM - 5:00PM TBD
Sat. January 25
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Geoffrey Fitzpatrick
Sun. January 26
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Kristin Lahaszow Geoffrey Fitzpatrick
Mon. January 27
3:30PM - 4:30PM 404 Rachel Winer Adam Millard Katy Hetherington CJ Connolly Sara Zeimer
6:30PM - 8:00PM MCR / SEND OFF Yena