Family Law
Albany, NY
Members: Helen Byrens, Cecilia Grimaldi, Ashley Quan
Coaches: Katy Hetherington (student coach) and Brooke Murphy (alumni coach)
Description of Issues:

1. WHETHER: The New Scotland Appellate Division, Third Department correctly determined that the changed circumstance rule should not apply where the custody arrangement was part of a privately negotiated separation agreement incorporated into the parties’ uncontested dissolution decree, without an adversarial hearing, and that therefore, the case should be remanded to consider the father’s petition to modify the custody arrangement regarding medical care decisions for his daughter.

2. WHETHER: The New Scotland Appellate Division, Third Department correctly determined that the father sufficiently demonstrated a material change in circumstances by showing facts including, but not limited to, (1) the inability of the parents to reach an agreement regarding the medical care of their daughter, (2) the existence of new information regarding the risks of antidepressants in young children, and (3) the mother’s failure to adhere to the terms of the separation agreement, and that therefore, the case should be remanded to consider the father’s petition to modify the custody arrangement regarding medical care decisions for his daughter.

Scheduling Contact: Katy Hetherington (hetherington@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Katy will email the bench memo to judges prior to practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Sun. January 19
9:00AM - 11:00AM D - CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Tue. January 21
5:30PM - 7:00PM A CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. January 22
12:00PM - 1:00PM M120 Geoffrey Fitzpatrick Melissa Rake Bismah Jaffer Madi CJ Connolly
Thu. January 23
12:00PM - 1:00PM B2 Demiana Khoury John Wong Reed. H Julia Covello Michael Guan
Sat. January 25
10:00AM - 12:00PM K Melissa Rake Madi
Sun. January 26
10:00AM - 12:00PM E Yena CJ Connolly Amrita Sethi
1:00PM - 5:00PM E - CLOSED LINE BY LINE CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Tue. January 28
7:00PM - 9:00PM K Marah Bragdon
Wed. January 29
12:00PM - 1:00PM H Karla Martinez Rachel Winer CJ Connolly Reed Horowitz Michael Guan
Sat. February 1
11:00AM - 1:00PM 410 CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED
Sun. February 2
10:00AM - 12:00PM B2 CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Tue. February 4
7:00PM - 9:00PM K Victoria Ayeni (7:30pm) Maya Galicia-Canto
Wed. February 5
12:00PM - 1:00PM E Demiana Khoury Melissa Rake Rachel Gerstenfeld William Bandettini Nick wood
Thu. February 6
7:00PM - 9:00PM E Yena Maya Galicia-Canto
Sun. February 9
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Cheryl Hetherington
Tue. February 11
7:00PM - 9:00PM K CJ Connolly Marah Bragdon Kimberly Macey Michael Guan
Wed. February 12
12:00PM - 1:00PM F Demiana Khoury Michelle Dong Hannah Diamond Rachel Winer Kerri Pinchuk
Thu. February 13
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Michelle Dong Sarah Mojarro Leisa Boswell Kristin Lahaszow Michelle Long
Sat. February 15
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR
3:00PM - 5:00PM F Stephanie Richardson George Richardson Yena Madison
Sun. February 16
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Tina Nguyen Atrina Mikayla O'Neal
Mon. February 17
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR CJ Connolly Maya Galicia-Canto
Wed. February 19
12:00PM - 1:00PM J Justine Jung Jenna Zendarski Anu Lingappa Jenny Sui Michele Ellson
Thu. February 20
7:00PM - 9:00PM B - FIRM PRACTICE CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Sat. February 22
10:00AM - 12:00PM MCR Victoria Ayeni (10-11am) Maya Galicia-Canto Casey
Sun. February 23
10:00AM - 12:00PM D
1:00PM - 3:00PM 404 - FUN PRACTICE Hannah Diamond CJ Connolly Michael Guan Maya Galicia-Canto
Tue. February 25
6:00PM - 7:30PM 404 - SEND OFF Jenny Sui Julia Sanchez Maya Galicia-Canto maxim gorbunov