Lefkowitz (Appellee)
San Francisco, CA
Members: Michelle Dong, Sarah Mojarro, Emerald Tsui
Coaches: Kristin Lahaszow (Student), Greg Michael & Dorothy Yamamoto (Alumni)
Description of Issues:

ISSUE NO. 1: Did the District Court err in finding that the color red, when used in connection with retail gasoline and convenience store services, is aesthetically functional?

ISSUE NO. 2: Did the District Court err in finding that while Plaintiff’s alleged roof design trade dress was not inherently distinctive primarily because it is a common basic shape, it had nevertheless acquired distinctiveness under 15 U.S.C. § 1052(f)?

ISSUE NO. 3: Did the District Court err in finding that due to the weakness of Plaintiff’s asserted roof design trade dress, and the differences in the Plaintiff’s and Defendant’s marks and services, consumer confusion was not likely?

Scheduling Contact: Kristin Lahaszow (klahaszow@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Kristin will email the bench memo the evening before practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Thu. January 16
12:00PM - 1:00PM C Amrita Sethi Reed H. Breana Michael Guan Kate Souza
7:00PM - 9:00PM F Greg & Dorothy
Fri. January 17
3:00PM - 4:30PM D Stephanie Richardson Ashley Quan Amrita Sethi Tina Nguyen maxim gorbunov
Sat. January 18
10:00AM - 11:30AM D (Joint with Appellant) Greg & Dorothy Madison Boucher
12:00PM - 2:00PM J Julia Covello Amrita Madison Boucher
Sun. January 19
3:00PM - 5:00PM D Madison
Mon. January 20
10:00AM - 12:00PM D Geoffrey Fitzpatrick Mikayla O'Neal Engram Mikayla O'Neal CJ Connolly
Tue. January 21
7:00PM - 9:00PM J Greg & Dorothy CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. January 23
12:00PM - 1:00PM MCR Andrew Wu CJ Connolly Madi Brittany Stahl Ethan Osheroff
7:00PM - 9:00PM F Greg & Dorothy CLOSED LINE BY LINE
Fri. January 24
3:00PM - 4:30PM D Julia Covello Marah Bragdon Geoffrey Fitzpatrick Brittany Stahl
Sat. January 25
10:00AM - 12:00PM J Greg & Dorothy CLOSED LINE BY LINE
Sun. January 26
3:00PM - 5:00PM D
Mon. January 27
7:00PM - 9:00PM D Greg & Dorothy
Tue. January 28
4:30PM - 5:30PM 630 Brittany Stahl Katy Hetherington
Thu. January 30
12:00PM - 1:00PM K Katy Hetherington
7:00PM - 9:00PM F Greg & Dorothy Emily Burns
Fri. January 31
3:00PM - 4:30PM M120
Sat. February 1
9:00AM - 11:00AM 410
11:30AM - 1:30PM 620A Greg & Dorothy
Sun. February 2
12:30PM - 2:30PM D
3:00PM - 5:00PM MCR
Mon. February 3
7:00PM - 9:00PM D Greg & Dorothy
Tue. February 4
4:30PM - 5:30PM 630
Thu. February 6
5:00PM - 7:00PM 410 Brittany Stahl