Veterans Law
Virtual - Washington D.C.
Members: Hayden Soria and John Paul
Coaches: CJ Connolly (student) and Eric Schmoll (alumni)
Description of Issues:

1. Does the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) comply with the "fair process" standard when it removes a veteran's permanent and total disability status without advance notice, thereby leaving the overall rate of compensation unchanged, but reducing or eliminating ancillary benefits previously available to the veteran?
2. Does VA's removal of a veteran's permanent and total disability status amount to a taking of property for purposes of Chapter 35 Dependents Educational Assistance?

Scheduling Contact: CJ Connolly (cjabjoe@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): A bench memo and Google Meet link will be sent to you the day before practice. If you would like to attend a practice and there are no spots left, please email CJ Connolly and she will get you the materials.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Mon. October 19
7:30PM - 9:00PM CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. October 21
12:00PM - 1:00PM CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Thu. October 22
12:00PM - 1:00PM CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Fri. October 23
8:00AM - 9:30AM Mariya Waheed Philip Hawkyard (MIT) Nikayla Johnson Sara Zeimer Brandon Hupka
1:00PM - 2:30PM Hannah Diamond Sofia De Guzman Raymund Quicho (MIT) Matt Balich (MIT) Brittany Stahl
Sun. October 25
9:00AM - 11:00AM Thomas Cotugno (MIT) Nick Keenan (MIT) Emily Nielsen Raymund Quicho (MIT) Nicole Aston
9:00AM - 11:00AM Nikolas Kroner (MIT) Clara Lane (MIT) Kayla Sparks (MIT) Claire Norman
Mon. October 26
2:30PM - 3:30PM Thomas Cotugno (MIT) Nicole Aston Emerald Tsui Kara Flageollet
7:30PM - 9:00PM CLOSED (Line-by-Line) CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Wed. October 28
12:00PM - 1:00PM Irene Yu (MIT) Rachel Choi (MIT) Kayla Sparks (MIT) Dominique Armstrong (MIT)
Thu. October 29
12:00PM - 1:00PM Brittany Stahl Jenna Zendarski Rachel Winer Hannah Diamond Matt Balich (MIT)
Fri. October 30
8:00AM - 9:30AM Rachel Winer Viridiana Ordonez Kristin Lahaszow Stuart Seaborn
1:00PM - 2:30PM Hannah Diamond Michelle Dong Matt Balich (MIT) Sara Zeimer Nikayla Johnson
Sun. November 1
9:30AM - 11:00AM Claire Arnaiz (MIT) Alaura McGuire (MIT) Michelle Dong Luca Trumbull (MIT)
12:00PM - 1:00PM Joseph Jo (MIT) Maxim Gorbunov Omeed Askari Ale Vallejo Nicole Ortega (MIT)
Mon. November 2
2:30PM - 3:30PM Maxim Gorbunov Marco Ornelas Rachel Winer Michael Lenett
7:30PM - 9:00PM Rachel Winer Stuart Seaborn
Wed. November 4
12:00PM - 1:00PM Maxim Gorbunov Dorit Reiss Nick Keenan (MIT) Lynn Ma (MIT) Joyce Lee (MIT)
Thu. November 5
12:00PM - 1:00PM Jenna Zendarski Anna Lovelace Owen Dave Owen Claire Norman
Fri. November 6
8:00AM - 9:30AM Sara Zeimer Magdalene Bedi Matt Balich (MIT) Viridiana Ordonez Stuart Seaborn
1:00PM - 2:30PM Marco Ornelas Kristin Lahaszow
Mon. November 9
7:30PM - 9:00PM CLOSED (Firm Practice: Alumni Sign Ups Only)
Tue. November 10
7:30PM - 9:00PM Fun Practice (Team or Invite Only)
Thu. November 12
8:00AM - 9:30AM Dorit Reiss Rachel Winer Demiana Khoury Erin Livinghouse Michael Lenett
12:00PM - 1:00PM Send-Off Madison Boucher Jenna Zendarski Maxim Gorbunov Cecilia Grimaldi Lynn Ma (MIT)