National Online MC
Remote/Online
Members: Marco Ornelas, Michelle Dong, and Melissa Rake
Coaches: Olivia Medina (student coach); Jessica Do & Kenny Taketa (alumni coaches)
Description of Issues:

1. (A) Whether federal appellate courts may raise the defense of qualified immunity sua sponte, and if so, (B) whether the holding in Pearson v. Callahan, 555 U.S. 223 (2009) permitting lower courts to proceed directly to the “clearly established” prong of the qualified immunity analysis should stand; and

2. Whether placing a prisoner with serious mental illnesses and a history of self-harm in administrative segregation for 360 days, without consistent access to physician prescribed treatment, violates the Eighth Amendment right against cruel and unusual punishment.

Scheduling Contact: Olivia Medina (oliviamedina@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Olivia will email the bench memo before practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Sun. October 4
10:30AM - 12:00PM Zoom Lauren Gallagher (MIT) Elizabeth Holland MIT Sam Hashemi (MIT)
Fri. October 9
11:00AM - 12:30PM Zoom Nikayla Johnson 11-12 Philip Hawkyard (MIT) Carlos Trejo
Wed. October 14
3:30PM - 4:30PM Zoom Kristin Choi Michael Guan Rachel Winer Ray Yu (MIT) Dominique Armstrong (MIT)
Fri. October 16
11:00AM - 12:30PM Zoom Lauren Gallagher (MIT) Carlos Trejo Marah Bragdon Brittany Stahl Ryan Azad
Wed. October 21
3:30PM - 4:30PM Zoom CJ Connolly Michelle Claros (MIT) Elizabeth Holland Mitchell Carlson (MIT) Isabella Granucci (MIT)
Wed. November 4
3:30PM - 4:30PM Zoom CJ Connolly Elizabeth Holland MIT Joyce Lee Abigail Shim (MIT) Justine Chang (MIT)
Fri. November 6
12:00PM - 2:00PM Zoom Hannah Diamond CJ Connolly Mauricio Grande Sara Zeimer Brianna Callagy (MIT)
Wed. November 11
10:00AM - 11:30AM Zoom Zahra Alamire Elizabeth Holland MIT Demiana Khoury Alex Vicas Alex Nicholson (MIT)
Fri. November 13
11:00AM - 1:00PM Zoom Hannah Diamond Rachel Winer Demiana Khoury Zahra Alamire
Sat. November 14
10:00AM - 12:00PM Zoom Ale Vallejo (MIT) Omeed Askari (MIT) Mattie Hassett Cecilia Grimaldi
Wed. November 18
8:00AM - 9:00AM Zoom Demiana Khoury Elizabeth Holland MIT Max Atchison (MIT) Mattie Hassett Lynn Ma (MIT)
Fri. November 20
7:00PM - 9:00PM CANCELLED
Sat. November 28
7:30AM - 9:30AM CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED CANCELLED
Sun. November 29
11:00AM - 12:30PM CANCELLED
Mon. December 14
12:00PM - 2:00PM Zoom Demiana Khoury Zahra Alamire Sara Zeimer Justine Jung Bailey Smith
Fri. December 18
11:00AM - 12:30PM Zoom Demiana Khoury Rachel Winer Justine Jung Eman Ateyeh Bailey Smith
2:00PM - 3:00PM Michael Lenett
Tue. December 22
11:00AM - 12:00PM Justine Jung Demiana Khoury Bailey Smith Michael Lenett
3:00PM - 4:30PM Demiana Khoury Michael Lenett
Sat. January 2
11:00AM - 1:00PM Zoom Justine Jung Demiana Khoury
Sun. January 3
12:00PM - 1:30PM Zoom Cecilia Grimaldi Justine Jung Demiana Khoury
Tue. January 5
10:00AM - 11:30AM Demiana Khoury Justine Jung
6:30PM - 7:30PM Zoom
Wed. January 6
11:00AM - 12:30PM Zoom Zahra Alamire Sara Zeimer Rachel Winer Justine Jung
Thu. January 7
8:00AM - 9:00AM Zoom Demiana Khoury Justine Jung
Fri. January 8
5:00PM - 7:00PM Zoom Justine Jung
Sun. January 10
10:30AM - 12:00PM Send-Off Hannah Diamond Cecilia Grimaldi Eman Ateyeh Rachel Winer Demiana Khoury