Hastings Appellate Project
Members: Anna Lovelace Owen and Olivia Medina
Coaches: Leah Spero, Stephen Tollafield, and Gary Watt
Description of Issues:

I. Did the BIA err by classifying a Hawaii Theft Code statute § 708-833(1) conviction as a categorical CIMT, without providing sufficient supporting analysis?

II. The U.S. Supreme Court held in 1951 in Jordan v. De George that the CIMT standard is not impermissibly vague, but the Court only considered its application to offenses involving fraud. In light of recent decisions from the Supreme Court revitalizing the void-for-vagueness doctrine, and recognition by this Court that the CIMT standard is vague, should the CIMT designation be declared unconstitutional?

 

Scheduling Contact: Olivia Medina (OliviaMedina@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): Bench memo and zoom link will be emailed before the practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Wed. January 27
12:00PM - 1:00PM cancelled cancelled cancelled cancelled
Fri. January 29
12:00PM - 1:00PM CJ Connolly Jasper Ford-Monroe
Mon. February 1
12:00PM - 1:00PM Cecilia Grimaldi Brianna Callagy (MIT) Nikolas Kroner (MIT) Nick Hunt
Wed. February 3
12:00PM - 1:00PM Justine Jung Jenna Zendarski Karla Martinez
Fri. February 5
12:00PM - 1:00PM Hayden Soria Jasper Ford-Monroe
Mon. February 8
12:00PM - 1:00PM Sukrti Thonse (MIT) Viridiana Ordonez Michael Guan
Wed. February 10
12:00PM - 1:00PM Dulce Rodas (MIT) Julia Pilkington Mel Rake Max Atchison (MIT)
Fri. February 12
12:00PM - 1:00PM Kristin Choi Jasper Ford-Monroe
Mon. February 15
12:00PM - 1:00PM Closed Closed
Wed. February 17
1:30PM - 2:30PM
Fri. February 19
12:00PM - 1:00PM Sara Zeimer Harmeet Kaur (MIT) Brooke Quesinberry (MIT)
Mon. February 22
1:30PM - 2:30PM Alex Norton
Wed. February 24
12:00PM - 1:00PM CJ Connolly Alex Norton Karla Martinez Mariya Waheed
Fri. February 26
12:00PM - 1:00PM Ryan Malhan (MIT) Kylie Green (MIT)
Mon. March 1
12:00PM - 1:00PM Alex Norton
Wed. March 3
12:00PM - 1:00PM CJ Connolly Mariya Waheed Isabella Granucci (MIT) Kylie Green (MIT)
Fri. March 5
12:00PM - 1:00PM Demiana Khoury
Mon. March 8
12:00PM - 1:00PM Alex Norton Mariya Waheed Raeshondra Dike (MIT)
Wed. March 10
12:00PM - 1:00PM Mariya Waheed
Fri. March 12
12:00PM - 1:00PM Demiana Khoury