Wechsler Crim Pro
Virtual - Buffalo, NY
Members: Justine Jung & Nathan Nelson
Coaches: CJ Connolly (student) & Erin Lanier (alumni)
Description of Issues:

1. Is the compelled disclosure of a memorized passcode to unlock a cell phone a testimonial act protected by the Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination, and if so, should the disclosure be compelled under the “foregone conclusion” doctrine developed in Fisher v. United States, 425 U.S. 391 (1976)?

2. If the “foregone conclusion” doctrine applies to the compelled disclosure of a cellphone passcode, in order to satisfy that doctrine, must the government demonstrate that it knows that the password exists, and that the defendant knows the password, or instead must the government demonstrate that it knows of the identity and contents of the specific files and items that it seeks on the cell phone?

Scheduling Contact: CJ Connolly (cjabjoe@uchastings.edu)
Document(s): A bench memo and Zoom link will be sent to judges prior to practice.
DATE AND TIME ROOM JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE
Wed. February 24
3:30PM - 4:30PM CLOSED (Pre-Brief) closed closed closed closed closed
Wed. March 3
3:30PM - 4:30PM CLOSED (Pre-Brief) closed closed closed closed closed
Sun. March 7
10:00AM - 12:00PM CLOSED closed closed closed closed closed
1:00PM - 3:00PM CLOSED closed closed closed closed closed
Mon. March 8
10:00AM - 12:00PM David Kempen Mattie Hassett Hannah Becker
Tue. March 9
10:00AM - 12:00PM Mattie Hassett Mariya Waheed Mel Rake
Wed. March 10
10:00AM - 12:00PM Katrina Uyehara Mariya Waheed
Thu. March 11
10:00AM - 12:00PM Anna Lovelace Owen Demiana Khoury Mariya Waheed Hayden Soria
Fri. March 12
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Sun. March 14
3:00PM - 5:00PM David Kempen Hayden Soria cecilia grimaldi
Mon. March 15
12:00PM - 1:00PM David Kempen Hannah Diamond Stephanie Yim Emily Horne
4:30PM - 6:30PM CLOSED (Line-by-Line) closed closed closed closed closed
Tue. March 16
7:00AM - 8:30AM
5:00PM - 7:00PM Demiana Khoury Mel Rake
Thu. March 18
8:00AM - 9:30AM Viridiana Ordonez
6:00PM - 8:00PM CLOSED (Firm/Alumni Sign Ups Only)
Fri. March 19
12:00PM - 1:00PM David Kempen Demiana Khoury Hannah Diamond Mariya Waheed Hannah Becker
Sat. March 20
7:00AM - 8:30AM
10:00AM - 11:30AM Stephanie Yim Mariya Waheed
1:00PM - 3:00PM
Mon. March 22
12:00PM - 1:00PM Viridiana Ordonez Hannah Diamond Mariya Waheed Mel Rake
4:30PM - 6:30PM FUN PRACTICE!
Tue. March 23
7:00AM - 8:30AM
5:00PM - 7:00PM Demiana Khoury cecilia grimaldi
Wed. March 24
3:30PM - 4:30PM Send Off! David Kempen Hannah Diamond Mariya Waheed Hannah Becker