Justice Marvin and Jane Baxter Appellate Law Center and Endowment for Moot Court

The Moot Court Department would like to express our utmost gratitude to Justice Marvin Baxter and Jane Baxter for the Baxter Appellate Law Center built and named in their honor, located formerly in the 198 Building. The Center was dedicated on January 20, 2011. We also thank the Baxter family for establishing the Justice Marvin and Jane Baxter Endowment for Moot Court in 2015.

In 1988, Governor George Deukmejian appointed Justice Baxter as an Associate Justice of the Court of Appeal, Fifth Appellate District. Justice Baxter served as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of California from 1991 until January 2015. Justice Baxter received the 1998 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award from Hastings, and he received this prestigious honor for the second time in 2015. He is a Director Emeritus of the law school.

Marvin and Jane Baxter met when they were students at California State University, Fresno, and they married the summer before Justice Baxter entered Hastings. Jane taught second grade in Burlingame before taking a leave of absence to raise their two children. She returned to teaching in Fresno in 1985 and retired in 1995. She has a lifetime credential in Elementary Education and earned the distinction of being a Master Teacher.

The Justice Marvin and Jane Baxter Appellate Law Center provides an invaluable resource for students to practice their oral argument skills. Since the Baxter Center dedication, the Hastings Moot Court Team has won many national, state and international championships and has been ranked as one of the top teams in the USA every year. The Baxter Appellate Center and the Baxter Fund are an essential part of our Moot Court success and the Baxters are an important part of our Moot Court Family. We thank them for everything they have given to Hastings Moot Court.

Alumni Coaches

With deep thanks and gratitude, we are fortunate to alumni willing to give back and mentor the next generation of Moot Court students. 

These individuals graciously donated their time and effort during the 2020-2021 school year to assist in the preparation of our award-winning competition teams:

Miranda Rowley, Bekah Young, Thuy Nguyen, Jessica Dabiri, Vincent Lee, Ronnie Shou, Melissa Kendra, Laura Anderson, Zachary Young, Kyle McLean, Eric Schmoll, Michael Rhoads, Paige Adaskaveg, Kenneth Taketa, Jessica Do, Greg Michael, Dorothy Yamamoto, Atrina Mehdipour, Nicholas Hunt, Patrick Burns, David Casarrubias, Alyson Cabrera, Andrew Ohlert, Stephanie Kang, Breana Burgos, Madison DiZinno, Mark D’Argenio, Katy Hetherington, Maya Galicia-Canto, Mikayla O’Neal, Emma Fuller, Nicole Vales, Laura Tovar, Keith Yetter, Ronnie Shou, Yena Kim, Mona Razani, Jackie Dailey, Kendra Chapman, Eisha Perry, Lu Ling, Karl Johnson, Madihha Ahussain, Erin Lanier, Alex Padua